Parga, Greece: Ionian Holidays - Travel to Greek Mainland
The town of Parga lies on the shores of the Ionion Sea, opposite the islands of Corfu, Paxos and Anti-Paxos.
It is approximately 50 km northeast of Igoumenitsa and 68 km northwest of Preveza.
Parga is well-known as the "Jewel of the Ionion".
The town rises like an amphitheatre from the sea front up the mountainside which surrounds the secluded bay.
The harbour front has an abundance of restaurants, bars and cafeterias which line the promenade with their tables and chairs.
Narrow alleyways wind through the town and ascend to the ruins of the Venetian castle which commands sensational views of the coastline and encompassing area.
The first mention of the settlement known as "Paleoparga" was made in 1320 in a commercial trade between the Bishop of Romania and the Venetians.
In 1360 Paleoparga moved down to the coast to avoid attack from the Turks and the Albanians.
The inhabitants asked for the help of the Normans, who ruled over the Ionion sea.
In 1401 the village came under Venetian rule.
The Venetians constructed the castle - bringing stability to the residents.
During this period large quantities of olive trees were planted - and Parga developed into a commercial centre for olive oil.
In 1452 the Ottomans attacked the village and dominated it for two years.
Following this period the fearsome pirate Barbarossa destroyed the entire village and in 1571 the army of the Albanian leader Ali Pasha attacked the town.
Following this, a peace treaty was agreed between the Ottomans and the Venetians who were very eager to keep control of Parga as it allowed them to keep control over the Ionian islands and observe the movements of the Ottomans.
Unfortunately as soon as the treaty expired the Turks attacked Parga (1657) and tried - unsuccessfully - for three years to conquer it.
A new treaty of "Passarovitch" in 1718 between Venice, Austria and the Ottoman empire was ended in 1797 when Venice surrendered to Napoleon Bonaparte and gave Parga and the Ionian Islands to the French.
In that same year the French came to Parga and built a fortress on the island of Panagia in front of Parga's harbour.
Ali Pasha and his army made another attempt to conquer the village - and - as the French were few, resulted in the residents asking assistance from the Russian Fleet who now patrolled the Ionian Islands.
A treaty between the Russian Tsar and the Ottoman Empire recognized Parga as an autonomous town under Russian influence.
Ali Pasha tried to recover Parga without success.
There are a number of huge rocks and a small island which defend the bay.
The charming island is dedicated to the Virgin Mary.
Visitors may visit the church by taking a water taxi from the harbour opposite.
There is also a tiny chapel dedicated to Saint Nicholas and a small fortress which was built by the French in 1808.
Today Parga has in the region of 3,000 Greek and International residents who live permanently in the area.
During the summer months this number increases tremendously and probably reaches its highest on 15th August - this being the main holiday period for Greeks and Italians many of whom visit to enjoy the annual celebration "Pargina Festival".
The immediate area around Parga is planted with olive, orange, lemon, mandarin and other fruit trees.
Apart from tourism the main source of income for the area is in olives and olive oil.
Visitors have an abundance of accommodations to choose from.
From simple self catering studios to luxury apartments and 4* hotels situated in the town and in Valtos and Lichnos areas.
Parga is a resort which holds great appeal for all ages and nationalities.
Explore Parga, visit Parga blog: http://pargalichnos.
com
It is approximately 50 km northeast of Igoumenitsa and 68 km northwest of Preveza.
Parga is well-known as the "Jewel of the Ionion".
The town rises like an amphitheatre from the sea front up the mountainside which surrounds the secluded bay.
The harbour front has an abundance of restaurants, bars and cafeterias which line the promenade with their tables and chairs.
Narrow alleyways wind through the town and ascend to the ruins of the Venetian castle which commands sensational views of the coastline and encompassing area.
The first mention of the settlement known as "Paleoparga" was made in 1320 in a commercial trade between the Bishop of Romania and the Venetians.
In 1360 Paleoparga moved down to the coast to avoid attack from the Turks and the Albanians.
The inhabitants asked for the help of the Normans, who ruled over the Ionion sea.
In 1401 the village came under Venetian rule.
The Venetians constructed the castle - bringing stability to the residents.
During this period large quantities of olive trees were planted - and Parga developed into a commercial centre for olive oil.
In 1452 the Ottomans attacked the village and dominated it for two years.
Following this period the fearsome pirate Barbarossa destroyed the entire village and in 1571 the army of the Albanian leader Ali Pasha attacked the town.
Following this, a peace treaty was agreed between the Ottomans and the Venetians who were very eager to keep control of Parga as it allowed them to keep control over the Ionian islands and observe the movements of the Ottomans.
Unfortunately as soon as the treaty expired the Turks attacked Parga (1657) and tried - unsuccessfully - for three years to conquer it.
A new treaty of "Passarovitch" in 1718 between Venice, Austria and the Ottoman empire was ended in 1797 when Venice surrendered to Napoleon Bonaparte and gave Parga and the Ionian Islands to the French.
In that same year the French came to Parga and built a fortress on the island of Panagia in front of Parga's harbour.
Ali Pasha and his army made another attempt to conquer the village - and - as the French were few, resulted in the residents asking assistance from the Russian Fleet who now patrolled the Ionian Islands.
A treaty between the Russian Tsar and the Ottoman Empire recognized Parga as an autonomous town under Russian influence.
Ali Pasha tried to recover Parga without success.
There are a number of huge rocks and a small island which defend the bay.
The charming island is dedicated to the Virgin Mary.
Visitors may visit the church by taking a water taxi from the harbour opposite.
There is also a tiny chapel dedicated to Saint Nicholas and a small fortress which was built by the French in 1808.
Today Parga has in the region of 3,000 Greek and International residents who live permanently in the area.
During the summer months this number increases tremendously and probably reaches its highest on 15th August - this being the main holiday period for Greeks and Italians many of whom visit to enjoy the annual celebration "Pargina Festival".
The immediate area around Parga is planted with olive, orange, lemon, mandarin and other fruit trees.
Apart from tourism the main source of income for the area is in olives and olive oil.
Visitors have an abundance of accommodations to choose from.
From simple self catering studios to luxury apartments and 4* hotels situated in the town and in Valtos and Lichnos areas.
Parga is a resort which holds great appeal for all ages and nationalities.
Explore Parga, visit Parga blog: http://pargalichnos.
com